



# The Second International Symposium on Biomolecular Chemistry

# (ISBC2006) in KONAN FIBER, Japan

From 6th to 9th in August, 2006

FIBER, Konan University, Japan

## SCOPE

The Second International Symposium on Biomolecular Chemistry (ISBC2006) will be held from 6th to 9th in August, 2006 in FIBER (Frontier Institute for Biomolecular Engineering Research), Konan University, Japan, organized by the Forum on Biomolecular Chemistry (FBC) in the Chemical Society of Japan, and coorganized by Konan FIBER, by Itaru Hamachi, the chairman of FBC, and Naoki Sugimoto, the executive chairman of the symposium. This symposium will emphasize the diversity of modern research in chemical studies on DNA/RNA, proteins, carbohydrates and metals, with particular emphasis on understanding and controlling the phenomena in living systems.

### SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM

The scientific program includes invited lectures and contributed papers (poster presentation) on the following topics:

- I Protein Interaction
- II Functional DNA/RNA
- III Metals in Chemical Biology
- IV Cell Function of Macromolecules
- V Nanobiotechnology and Technology Innovation in Biomolecular Chemistry

# **INVITED SPEAKERS (TENTATIVE)**

Floyd Eric Romesberg (The Scripps Research Institute, USA) Jaehoon Yu (Seoul National University, Korea) Kai Johnsson (Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland) Andrew Woolley (University of Toronto, Canada) Masayuki Matsushita (Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd) Larry W. McLaughlin (Boston College, USA) Philip C. Bevilacqua (The Pennsylvania State University, USA)
Nicholas V. Hud (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
Dipankar Sen (Simon Fraser University, Canada)
Takashi Hayashi (Osaka University, Japan)
Thomas Carell (LMU München, Germany)
Kazuya Kikuchi (Osaka University, Japan)
Thomas V. O'Halloran (Northwestern University, USA)
Injae Shin (Yonsei University, Korea)
Jean Gariepy (University of Toronto, Canada)
Geert-Jan Boons (The University of Georgia, USA)
Stefan Matile (University of Geneva, Switzerland)
Constantinos Varotsis (University of Crete, Greece)
Rainer Haag (Free University of Berlin, Germany)
Shoji Takeuchi (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
Haesik Yang (Pusan National University, Korea)

#### LOCATION

The main sessions will be held at Frontier Institute for Biomolecular Engineering Research (FIBER) at Konan University (<u>http://fiber.konan-u.ac.jp/english/index.html</u>) located in the eastern part of Kobe, Japan. From the campus, one can enjoy a panoramic view of the city of Kobe. To the north is Mt. Rokko, and beyond the city the sea is visible. The location of Konan University provides immediate access to the delights of Kobe, a city internationally renowned as a sightseeing destination. The stations nearest the campus are Okamoto Station (Hankyu Kobe line) and Settsumotoyama Station (JR Kobe line). You can access to FIBER in approximately 25 min from Sannomiya Station or 40 min from Shinkansen (bullet train) Shin-Kobe Station in the heart of Kobe. All participants are supposed to stay at a large luxury hotel of the Kobe Bay Sheraton Hotel & Towers. We will provide about 20-minute shuttle bus service connecting the hotel and FIBER.



#### **ORGANIZING COMMITTEE**

Itaru HAMACHI, Chair (Kyoto) Naoki SUGIMOTO (Kobe) Takehiko WADA (Osaka) Kazuo HARADA (Tokyo) Shu-ichi NAKANO (Kobe) Shiroh FUTAKI (Kyoto) Koichi FUKASE (Osaka) Toshinori SATO (Tokyo) Takeshi NAGASAKI (Osaka) Hisakazu MIHARA (Kanagawa) Ikuo FUJII (Osaka) Kouhei TSUMOTO (Tokyo) Mitsuhiko SHIONOYA (Tokyo) Kazuya KIKUCHI (Osaka) Takashi HAYASHI (Osaka) Hitoshi ISHIDA (Kanagawa) Takeshi TSUMURAYA (Osaka) Yoshinobu BABA (Nagoya) Shigeori TAKENAKA (Fukuoka) Keigo AOI (Nagoya) Shun HIROTA (Kyoto)

### SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM COMMITTEE

Itaru HAMACHI, Chair (Kyoto) Naoki SUGIMOTO (Kobe) Takehiko WADA (Osaka) Kazuo HARADA (Tokyo) Shu-ichi NAKANO (Kobe) Shiroh FUTAKI (Kyoto) Koichi FUKASE (Osaka) Toshinori SATO (Tokyo) Takeshi NAGASAKI (Osaka) Hisakazu MIHARA (Kanagawa) Ikuo FUJII (Osaka) Kouhei TSUMOTO (Tokyo) Mitsuhiko SHIONOYA (Tokyo) Kazuya KIKUCHI (Osaka) Hitoshi ISHIDA (Kanagawa) Takeshi TSUMURAYA (Osaka) Yoshinobu BABA (Nagoya) Shigeori TAKENAKA (Fukuoka) Keigo AOI (Nagoya) Shun HIROTA (Kyoto)